The Unseen – Review

Posted on March 6, 2011

0


Issue: The Unseen #1
Writer: Dr. Spider C. Guffey
Artist: Scary Larry Montet
Letters: Grass Green
Publisher: Legion Studios
Release Date: Sept. 2010
Pages: 36
Price: $3.95

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
There are two different stories in this issue, but they are done by the same creative teams. The first story is the main title “The Unseen”, and I have to admit that at the beginning the artwork was a little rough, but things quickly turned around when I was introduced to the protagonist Joe. The style of the first story played very nicely with what was going on, nice and dark rough edged work. The highlight to me those was the slow deterioration of the main character in the back up story “Rain”. The way he was broken down panel after panel was an almost perfect interpretation of showing human decay. Both stories worked well with the wording, but I have to say I liked what I saw on “Rain” much better.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
Like the artwork, I found myself lost at first with the main storyline. And like I said with the artwork, once I was introduced to the character Joe, it all made more sense. The main story had some good dialogue but what I think really hit it home was the pacing. Going back and forth from Joe to the Unseen’s stories worked perfectly. I was able to get into the mind of both characters. The big winner story-wise though was “Rain”. Just the internal dialogue that was going on that lead up to the conclusion was perfectly executed.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
This book reminded me of some other books I have reviewed before, where you get nice dark artwork, that has an evil flow to it. The stories placed with these visuals add up to make me, the reader, feel uncomfortable and not ready for what is coming next. The whole idea is to produce that scare and unsettling feeling, which this accomplished to well. I know I liked the back up story more, but I am hoping with issue #2 those loose ends can be touched up a bit more to make this book a solid thrill.

If you would like to buy or know more about The Unseen #1 you can find it at website www.LegionStudios.com

Posted in: Reviews