The Raven and the Red Death (Dark Horse) – Review

Posted on November 13, 2013

0


The Raven and the Red Death (Dark Horse)
Decapitated Dan: Oh Corben, my Corben, why is your artwork so? SO DAMN GORE-Geous! I said it before, I am not a fan of Poe, but when Richard Corben works on these Poe stories how can anyone pass them up? What I loved about these two stories was that they are the Poe stories I really don’t like at all, and yet I loved them here. The way that Corben told the Raven story was fantastic. He removed all the repetitive nevermore lines, and in turn presented it as a more readable tale of loss for me. When it came to The Masque of the Red Death adaption, I thought that the artwork was stronger then the story. The way he presented the Red Death and how it afflicted people was jaw dropping. The story was good, don’t get me wrong, but it’s just not a story I really enjoy. Overall, this is another great adaptation issue, even if you don’t care for Poe stories. – Dying Breath 4.5 out of 5.0

Posted in: Reviews