Quarantined OGN – Review

Posted on March 15, 2011

0


Issue: Quarantined OGN
Writer:
Michael Moreci
Pencils & Inks:
Monty Borror
Colors: Lauren Anne Sharp
Letters: Jim Campbell
Publisher:
Markosia
Release Date:
2011
Price:
$19.99

“In a small town in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, a virus is released into the water supply, transforming people into vicious killers. The military shuts down the borders—no way in, no way out. A group of survivors trapped within the town must survive against the infected, against the odds, and against each other.

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5.0
It’s been a little while since I originally covered the single issue for this book. Some ups and some downs have taken place but it is finally here in front of me. The artwork here is very good, but with a few minor details that I don’t think helped it overall. At times, and they are few and far between, I think a hand is a little awkward looking. It’s nothing huge, but it just gets to me. The panels also lack backgrounds from time to time, and while this does center the main focus on the characters, it came of a little distracting. Overall though I do like the look of this book. I think that the characters were nice and consistent throughout. The colors really helped set the dark tone that the story was looking for.

Story: 4.0 out of 5.0
A zombie/virus outbreak has come to town, again, and it works here. What I liked best about Moreci’s work here was the pacing. This book flowed very well from all the highs and lows. The dialogue was very “survival-istic” too. There were moments of terror and action that just read right. I don’t want to spoil anything but there is also a great twist involved with this book. So overall it works out nicely, and then you come to the end. Not saying there is anything wrong with it, but I expected this to be one and done and now, I must have more!

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5.0
The artwork does a great job of visually capturing the right tone for this book. There are times when you know that a creative team is just right for a book and I think it’s a safe bet to say that Moreci and Borror are just that. From the great dialogue to the fantastic twist, I can safely call Quarantined a horror comic winner. So now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go bother Michael to know what is going to happen in part 2.

If you would like to buy or know more about Quarantined OGN please check out http://www.michaelmoreci.com/

Posted in: Reviews