Harbor Moon OGN – Review

Posted on August 27, 2010

2


Issue: Harbor Moon OGN
Writer/Editor/Producer: Ryan Colucci
Writer: Dikran Ornekian
Artist: Pawel Sambor
Art Director: Karol Wisniewski
Supporting Artist: Nikodem Cabala
Story By: Brian Anderson
Publisher: Arcana
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 140
Price: $20.00

“When professional soldier Timothy Vance receives information from someone claiming to be his long-lost father, he takes a trip to out-of-the-way Harbor Moon, Maine. It turns out that man hasn’t been there in thirty years and pretty soon Tim’s life is in danger. Fighting for the truth and his survival, Tim discovers that Harbor Moon is harboring a secret. The entire town is werewolves and the man he was looking for may be just like them. Just as a ruthless band of werewolf hunters descend upon the town, Tim must decide whether he is going to stay and fight or turn his back on what he really is.

Artwork: 3.75 out of 5
I am kind of torn on how to really rate this one, because a part of me wants to go 3.5 but the other half wants to go 4.0. So I am going to split it for this one time only. Alright so lets start with why I wanted to go 3.5. At times the panels felt kind of distorted and I found myself wondering what was going on. Now was it often? No, but it did distract a little from the panels that just plan kicked ass. So why would I have said 4.0 then? Because some panels just kick so much ass! The colors rock on this book, and I really see this as an up and coming style now, Ben Templesmith, Alan Roberts and now Pawel Sambor. It works so well in so many spots that it’s sucks to see it not work throughout. One last note, what a GORE-Geous group of werewolves!

Story: 4.0 out of 5
The story, to me, was really where this book started to shine. It’s start off by quickly grabbing my interest with some nice action and then slowing down and building into the grand finale. A very nicely done plot, that had me from the start. The concept worked well, I found myself thinking one thing and then being thrown for a loop. The dialogue is great, it reads so well. There were some small bits where it seemed a little off, but overall it works.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
Is it a different take on the werewolf culture? Yeah kinda. I didn’t see it coming that’s for sure. I liked the concept a lot when all was said and done, and it’s even left open for possible spin-offs, which I suggest some writer might want to get started on soon. The artwork had a spot or two that got to me but it really did shine. It was a perfect fit for this book. Werewolf fans take not, this is one for you collection. Horror fans you need to buy it to, it’s a solid OGN that I can’t see disappointing a single person. Now get to work Colucci, I need more!

If you would like to buy or know more about Harbor Moon OGN you can find it at http://harbor-moon.com/

Posted in: Reviews