Hack/Slash #30 – Review

Posted on April 1, 2010

0



Issue: Hack/Slash #30
Writer:
Tim Seeley
Pencils: Daniel Leister
Colors: Mark Englert
Letters: Crank!
Publisher:
Devils Due Publishing
Release Date:
March 2010
Pages:
24
Price:
$3.50

“Cassie and Vlad’s most bizarre mission yet! Meet The Alternative, a group of teens who have decided to outfit themselves in costumes and defend their city against crime. But before they start bashing bad guys, they’re going to have one hell of a debaucherous party! Now someone wants them dead, and the killer knows how to make a gory mess out of Spandex-clad sidekick wannabes! It’s teen supers meets teen slayer in Super Sidekick Sleepover Slaughter part 1!”

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5.0
This is a nice looking comic book. While I found somethings to be unappealing it was very nice for the most part. I didn’t think that the main characters held their looks throughout the book. By that I mean at times they seemed awkward. Aside from that I loved the look of the superheroes and the murder scenes. The coloring as great and I felt it is what brought everything together.

Story: 3.5 out of 5.0

Most people who know me know that I am not a follower of this series. It’s not that I think it’s a bad series, just something I never got into. So every now and then I dip my eyes and mind back into an issue to see what’s going on and if I might be able to jump on board. I felt that the story here was alright, I liked the explanation of the heroes and how they get their powers, but still there was nothing to hook me in. The dialogue was good between the cast and I think I can easily say that fans of the book should like the start to this arc.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5.0
So good art and story can be found here in the newest Hack/Slash story arc. I like the superhero twist it is taking but I kind of wonder how well the genre crossover will play out. While I am still not 100% on board I do think I will take another shot when Hack/Slash restarts with Image. So a fun issue that I believe fans will easily enjoy.

If you would like to buy Hack/Slash #30 you can grab it at your local comic shop.

Posted in: Reviews