Darkstalkers: The Night Warriors #1 – Review

Posted on April 1, 2010

0



Issue: Darkstalkers: The Night Warriors #1
Writer:
Ken Siu-Chong
Pencils: Eric Vedder, Joe Vriens, Joe Ng
Inks: Crystal Reid
Colors: Espen Grundetjern
Letters: Marshall Dillon
Publisher:
Udon Entertainment
Release Date:
March 2010
Pages:
28
Price:
$3.95

“The ghoulish monsters and sexy seductresses known as the Darkstalkers are back! Morrigan, Demitri, Bishamon, and Donovan are joined by newcomers like Huitzil, Anakaris, and Q-Bee. It’s man VS demon, robot VS mummy, succubus VS vampire and more, as the creatures of the night battle for control of the darkness!

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5.0
Colors that pop on top of some nice looking artwork make this a good looking book. While you get that fun Manga style I think that the colors help balance it out to where people who aren’t fans may take notice. I looked up the character designs from the game and the characters are all true to those designs. They stay nice and fluid from pages to page, and at times it does make me think I am sitting on the couch watching an Anime.

Story: 3.0 out of 5.0

I will admit I knew what to expect going into this issue, without having read any other Darkstalker comic before. I mean it’s based off of a fighting game, but the dialogue is good enough to sustain an intriguing storyline on top of the fighting. I will want to go back and check out the first volume to get a better idea of what is going on here, but for the most part it wasn’t too bad.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5.0
Make no mistake on what your getting here a horror fighting game in print form. People who are fans of the game or the genre will like it, but for someone like me who knows little about either, I liked it enough to want to read more. I like the art and coloring, there was a fun backstory added at the end too. I like the take on the monsters and I am looking forward to issue #2, so for now I say it may be worth checking out.

If you would like to buy or know more about Darkstalkers: The Night Warriors #1 please go to http://www.udonentertainment.com/blog/.

Posted in: Reviews