Vincent Price Presents #17 – Review

Posted on February 24, 2010

0


Issue: Vincent Price Presents #17
Writer:
Nick Lyons
Artist: Juan Tomajok
Colors: Kamui Oscuro
Letters: Wilson Ramos Jr.
Graphics: Darren Davis
Publisher: BlueWater Comics
Release Date:
March 2010
Pages:
36
Price:
$3.99

“After her husband is brutally murdered by a psychotic gunslinger named Soulless Sam, Emily and her son Peter try to start a new life. But, can Emily and Peter live in peace or will Soulless Sam continue to terrorize them?

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
This is a really nice looking issue. I like the oddly shaped characters, it gives them a very original feel while maintaining their purpose. The same can be said about the coloring and cover. The action scenes were done very well as I got a very good feel for what was going on. I really enjoyed this style, and plan on looking more into Tomajok’s work.

Story: 2.5 out of 5
I won’t beat around the bush on this one. The story started really strong and just fizzled out at the end. I liked the mystery and buildup that was taking place, but I kinda felt I was left hanging at the end. It just seemed rushed. The dialogue left to showcase the action but the final page just seemed like an after school special. It’s sad too because I really thought it was going somewhere good. Possibly could have been a two part issue as some aspects that were touched on didn’t seem very necessary with the end result.

Dying Breath: 3.0 out of 5
Overall I will say that the art saved this one. The story started off really well, but just went flat at the end if you ask me. I think it could have had more to it if a few things had shifted around. This was my first chance to take a look at this series and I can say I plan on reading some more issues in the near future.

If you would like to know more about or purchase a copy of Vincent Price Presents #17 please go to http://www.bluewaterprod.com/.

Posted in: Reviews