Curse of the Mummy’s Stone #1 (Hard Coal Studios) – Review

Posted on October 24, 2013

0


Curse of the Mummy’s Stone #1 (Hard Coal Studios)
Decapitated Dan: Now this is how you bring a classic horror movie (30’s and 40’s) to the comic page. Not that many people are attempting it of course, but Murray and Benkin deliver here. What I love about the way this is presented, is that it almost perfectly mimics what I would expect going to the theater back then would be like. There is a great teaser before the Feature starts, and then it’s just tons of mummy fun. I think that they knew I was a mummy guy at heart, so of course a little bias plays into this one. The story is done very nicely, and captures that feeling and dialogue of this time period. Hell I would have thought that this was an adaptation of a movie that came out back then. This team brought a comic to life that was just a treat to read. It’s not everyday you get a mummy comic, or even see one done so well. I was wrapped up in how good this one was from start to finish! – Dying Breath 4.5 out of 5.0

Posted in: Reviews