Love Stories to Die For #1 (Image) – Review

Posted on September 18, 2013

0


Love Stories to Die For #1 (Image)
Decapitated Dan: Love and Horror, do they go hand in hand, or do the prove that a black heart has nothing to do with scaring us? Dirk Manning has teamed up with Owen Gieni and Rich Bonk to bring us 2 tales of Love and Death! In the first tale, “Bloodlust: Deceiver of the Gods” we follow some Vikings who have been tricked into fighting some vampires by those who should be good, but as it turns out they are not. I liked this tale, but I felt kind of upset on how it ended. I know what was going to happen, but I wanted to see it, not imagine it. Great fight scenes were what really grabbed me on this story. The second story I did like better, but I do admit I have a bias when it comes to Gieni’s artwork, because it is GORE-Geous! To understand this, all you need to do is look at the page with the monsters, oh man did my heart melt. This tale, “Symptom of the Universe”, is a Sci-Fi story that took a turn I wasn’t expecting, but I really liked it. I think that both stories were stronger on the art side of things, but both had this classic love/horror feel to them that screamed old school Horror Comics. This was a great read, and it’s a flip book! That’s win win if you ask me. – Dying Breath 4.5 out of 5.0

Posted in: Reviews