The Dead vol.1 #1 (Arrow Comics) – Review

Posted on August 29, 2013

0


The Dead vol.1 #1 ( Arrow Comics – 1993)
Decapitated Dan: When the camping trip goes wrong, everything goes right for the reader (which is me by the way) in this first issue of The Dead. I’m an 80’s early 90’s horror comic kinda guy, so I know that if the names Kerr and Griffith are involved, this book will be a winner (Deadworld). One of the cool writing elements in this issue was how the story was presented. Starting with the action, then flashing back to how everything came to be, then back to where the book started, and finishing up with this AGH-Mazing cliffhanger! Now let’s switch gears and talk about how GORE-Geous this book is. Jason Moore (pencils) and Jeff Lafferty (inks) brought their A game to this book, and it shines on almost every single page. The book stealing scenes are by far the death ones, I never knew a head getting blown off would look like that. I can’t lie to you, this book is not easy to come by, it took me years to get a copy, but in the end I found one! This is a book that needs to be read by ALL HORROR COMIC FANS, so lets hope it gets collected/reprinted soon! Matter of fact, lets start a petition! There is so much to learn in coming issues, and I can only imagine how amazing those issues will be. – Dying Breath 5.0 out of 5.0

Posted in: Reviews