The Crow: Skinning the Wolves #1 – Review

Posted on December 13, 2012

1


Issue: The Crow: Skinning the Wolves
Writer: James O’Barr
Artist: Jim Terry
Publisher: IDW
Release Date: December 2012
Price: $3.99

“James O’Barr returns to The Crow! In this special three-part tale, O’Barr and artist Jim Terry craft a harrowing tale set at a death camp in 1940s Germany, where a simple game of chess turns deadly, leading to the creation of a new Crow, giving new meaning to the term Gotterdammerung (“Death of the Gods”)! “

Dying Breath: 4.5 out of 5
I have to admit that when it comes to The Crow comics I am always on the fence. Of course the first series was amazing, but after that it really seemed to be hit or miss for me. I was really excited to not only see that O’Barr was back on this title, but that Jim Terry was on the art. Jim’s artwork in this issue is GORE-Geous. The one panel, that can be found in the online preview of the issue, where the Nazi soldier is missing his lower jaw, made my eyes fill with liquid. His panels are clean and visually drive the story to where it needs to go. The story really took me by surprise as well. Typically with this title we will get a love story of sorts, that goes awry. That being said, we don’t know the real reason for the return of the hero just yet, but love story or not, this one had it all. With great pacing and dialogue from page to page, I was so sad when it was over. I need more! If you are like me and previous versions of The Crow series have left you a little down in the dumps, check this one out. It had everything I could have wanted and more. A great start to this mini, with an amazing team working on it. It is so worth picking up and giving a try, even if you are new to The Crow.

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5 • Story: 4.5 out of 5

If you would like to buy or know more about The Crow: Skinning the Wolves you can find it at http://www.idwpublishing.com/

Posted in: Reviews