The Samaritan: 1-3 Collected – Review

Posted on July 31, 2012

0


Issue: The Samaritan: 1-3 Collected
Writer: Victor Dandridge
Artist: Ren McKinzie
Publisher: Vantage: Inhouse Productions

“If you had the power to change the world, would you do it? Moving into his new home, a lone drifter takes stock of the troubles that plague the building — but is he just a new tenant or something more? Welcome to the world of The Samaritan.”

Dying Breath: 4.5 out of 5
Superheroes are lame. Well at least to me. So when Victor Dandridge tells me to review his book and suck it up, I am willing to give it a shot. But I still have a little bias going into it. I was not expecting what was in these pages at all. The artwork by McKinzie floored me, which is easy to do when I drop my head. I loved his shadow work. With his ability to balance everything, and this is even without including the use of the blue tone. Up and coming indie artist on the rise folks. This book shows so much potential on the art alone. However, that is not 100% necessary because Dandridge brought the story and delivered it with a side of fries. Victor dives deep into this story, showing a very dramatic and dark setting, that is need of a hero. His feel for writing drama in this style so well done. While the protagonist is potentially a superhero, it is not really touched on in these first 3 issues. I liked that about the story. There was a lot of build making it a solid read, but there is still a good deal of mystery to it. Will this change how I feel about the genre of heroes, no. It will change my opinion on reading adult oriented hero stories though. This book is fantastic, and I can highly recommend that you check it out. I know I am happy I did.

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5 • Story: 4.5 out of 5

If you would like to buy or know more about The Samaritan you can find it at http://vantageinhouse.blogspot.com/

Posted in: Reviews