Spandex: Fast and Hard – Review

Posted on July 1, 2012

1


Issue: Spandex: Fast and Hard
Writer: Martin Deen
Artist: Martin Deen
Publisher: Titan Books
Release Date: 2012
Price: $19.95

“Prowler, Liberty, Glitter, Indigo, Butch, Mr Muscles, Diva — all superpowered, all British, and the first all gay super-hero team there ever was! Created by independent creator Martin Eden, Spandex charts the highs and lows of a group of Brighton-based heroes, doing battle with 50-foot lesbians, a group of deadly pink ninjas, as well as their own complicated love lives! Packed with pop culture references, nods to classic comics and chock-full of humour and drama, Spandex is a super-hero book like no other! This is the very first collection of Martin Eden’s award-nominated comic and collects Spandex #1-3, plus bonus material!”

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
It is always good to take a step out of the horror zone and cover something new every once and awhile. Spandex was a book about something I don’t care for at all, super-heroes, and yet I enjoyed the living hell out of it. I love reading books where the artist and writer are one and the same. When done right you can be left knowing that one talented person took the time to entertain you and leave a lasting impression in you mind. Deen does just that, with a really fun story that covers so many aspects beyond that of traditional super-heroes. While I will admit that at first the artwork was not my thing, it did grow on my as the pages went on. I would call it a very loose style, something I might expect from a comic strip, over a comic book. The colors were flat, but they worked so well with the art style, that I felt it really made the visual aspect come together. The story is broken up into 3 chapters, because there were 3 issues of the comic. The first two had a really playful side to them. It was a great way to introduce the cast, and then add-on the layers of drama. By the time I was done with the first Chapter I was hooked and ready for more. The third story, which had a great final page written by Deen, expressed what it meant to him. The depth of what was really going on, and how it reflects the his life and others was a really great touch. Overall this book was a fantastic read. While I personally didn’t care for the art, I loved the stories that were being told. There is still more to learn about the Spandex ‘Verse and I for one will be on board for more!

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5 • Story: 4.5 out of 5

If you would like to buy or know more about Spandex: Fast and Hard you can find it at http://titanbooks.com

Posted in: Reviews