Tales from the Whorehouse of Horror #1 – Review

Posted on May 15, 2011

0


Issue: Tales from the Whorehouse of Horror #1
Writer: Yakov Levi
Artist: Dio Lee, Leon Roach
Release Date: 2011

“A new genre in horror – Whorror. Sexy, funny, terrifying. The Whore of Horror and Dr. Jekyll, Gynecologist, are your hosts in these perverted comics.”

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
How whore-ibble can a whore-or comic look? Well not that damn bad if you ask me. Matter of fact I loved the artwork in this book. Let me say this, sometimes, as a reviewer, I have come across some bad interiors, but this book really does a great job of paying homage to the classics. Some nice black and whites with great gray tones. Yes there is adult visuals here, but it’s not prevalent and on very page. It’s actually like that in a B-Movie where you get a random breast shot here and there, or maybe a picture of something that could be “happening”. Overall I think that it was done in taste to complete a fun book to look at.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
Much like the artwork, I kinda went into this expecting it to be over the top, or done without taste, but again I was pleasantly surprised. The stories were full of that classic feel and had a spooky mental horror aspect to them. The first story “Horror Highway” was my favorite. When I thought I had it figured out it took me for a totally new loop. The second story “Sexth Sense” was a funny take on “What  Woman Want” by placing the shoe on the other foot. All in all it was funny and a good read.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
This book proves why you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. The art was a great throwback and the stories had a classic feel as well. While this might not be for all horror fans, I would have to suggest that adult readers might want to take a look at this free #1. It was funny and looked good and well, those are two things that you should want in the horror comic medium.

If you would like to buy or know more about Tales from the Whorehouse of Horror #1 you can find it at http://www.whorrorcomix.com

Posted in: Reviews