Critical Millennium #3 – Review

Posted on January 21, 2011

1


Issue: Critical Millennium #3
Writer/Creative Director: Andrew E. C. Gaska
Artist: Daniel Dussault
Letters: Nina L. Kester
Proofs: Duncan Mc Lachlan
Publisher: Archaia
Pages: 40
Price: $3.95

“One thousand years of mankind’s rise and fall in space! To avert the path all thought unavoidable, a bold group of explorers takes the first steps toward leaving Earth’s solar system. Their quest: new worlds to colonize, so that humanity may yet have yet a chance at survival. Led by philanthropist Thomm Coney, and utilizing an untried star–drive, the team is scorned by the world’s government and canonized by its citizens. In this issue: Coney, Eryc, Pandita and Angel Rei return to Earth amidst a media circus! In the aftermath of the flooding of the Ghost Sector of New Bombay, the world debates over what to do with the survivors—no one wants them. With the completed Black Star Drive Vessel transported via cargo carrier to Earth, and political tensions over its impending launch running high, young John Adams find himself entrenched deep within the new Ghost Army. The leader—a man known only as the Wraith—initiates a series of terrorist attacks designed to kill the would-be-astronauts and destroy their ship in a bid to stop the mission to the stars!”

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
I have highly praised previous issues of this book for stunning visuals and fantastic colors, and this issue is right on par with them, except for one thing, there was no really great panel in this issue that just had to stand out and make me say WOW. Now does that mean that this issue isn’t worth looking at? Hell no, as a matter of fact I think you can easily just get lost in the great looking pages here. The colors pop and I think for a futuristic setting, I am actually happy that it’s not portrayed as dark and dismal. Instead I was treated to bright pages that make this story come to life right before my eyes.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
I think the only way to get this much story in 40 pages is to just kick the artwork out and make it a novel. This thing is packed! Let me put it this way… 1 hour. That is right 1 hour! It took me that long to read this issue. Can you tell me any other book that takes 1 hour to read 40 pages worth of content? The story is on pace for this big finish that I am actually sad to see coming. The pacing is great, I am never lost when it switches between the characters and I like the writing behind the dialogue. The downside to this issue though was that it was light on the action and more on moving the story forward to the big finale. However it was done right and that is all you can ask for in a great story.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
I honestly think that when this comes out in trade form it will take people 3 hours to read. How can you beat that? 3 hours of entertainment! I think this could have easily been a 12 issue maxi series to be honest. But this is not the trade, and I only have four issues coming my way so instead this is just issue #3 and it is solid. From start to finish I was hooked into this issue both lyrically and visually. Plan and simple I am loving this book and am kinda sad to see the end is coming. However I know my words of praise are strong enough to make Archaia give me more! Haha in all seriousness I recommend this series, even if it doesn’t fit into the horror genre. This is Sci-Fi done right!

To find out more about Critical Millennium #3 please go to http://www.archaia.com/ and grab a copy at your local comic shop.

Posted in: Reviews