The Wicket and Imp Collection 2010 – Review

Posted on January 13, 2011

0


Issue: The Wicket and Imp Collection 2010
Writer: Jon Kulczar
Artist: Jon Kulczar
Letters: Jon Kulczar
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 400+
Price: $10.00

“Calvin and Hobbes on crack… set in a surreal battle of good versus evil… and there’s vampire pigs… and athlete’s feet Demons. Wicket and Imp chronicles the adventures of an animated teddy bear and an aardvark looking partner, trying to fight evil and figure out what the hell is happening to them… two against a chaotic imagination run amok.”

Artwork: 3.0 out of 5
Oh Wicket, you were cute as a bear until you changed. Then I’m not sure what you became, a gremlin mix maybe. This collection does one thing spot on, and that is consistency. From page to page you know which character is which and it comes to be very helpful on pages. Sometimes a page in this book would have up to almost 16 panels, so consistency is key. Would I say that the designs are in great detail, no, would I say that I was picking my jaw up off the floor in awe, no, but what I was doing from page to page was wondering how the hell Kulczar was able to cram this much stuff onto a single page. The big downside from time to time was the lettering. I found myself having some trouble following where to go next. In some cases there were nicely placed arrows, but in others it was more of a guessing game.

Story: 3.5 out of 5
What the story lacks in terms of depth, it makes up for in jokes and spontaneity. Now that being said I didn’t know where it was going most of the time, but I did like where it went. The fact that the book was full of jokes, is one thing that had me going from one page to the next. I will say though that it did jump around a lot, and I can see it possibly making some people scratch their heads, but overall there was a main plot that was touched on time and time again. So a full story is there, just at times it gets lost in the crazy shenanigans. One of the good things about this book was seeing growth from start to finish. With the amount of content you can see change over time here.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5
It was funny, when I was done reading this book I told John. “Thank you for giving me ADD.” At times this book felt out there and odd but in the end it works on a few levels. You get a good dose of humor and who doesn’t like to laugh. You get nice consistent artwork, and when I think the characters are drawn at least 5,000 times in the book, that kinda helps. So overall it’s a fun read, I totally loved what was brought to the table, I mean come on Vampire Pigs people!

If you would like to buy or know more about The Wicket and Imp Collection 2010 you can email Jon at kulczar@yahoo.com

Posted in: Reviews