Skullkickers #3 & 4 – Review

Posted on January 3, 2011

1


Issue: Skullkickers #3 & 4
Writer: Jim Zubkavich
Line Art: Edwin Huang, Chris Stevens
Colors: Misty Coats
Cover Artist: Chris Stevens
Publisher: Image Comics
Release Date: November & December 2010
Pages: 32
Price: $2.99

“ONE THOUSAND OPAS AND A DEAD BODY,” Part Three—A pilfered poison pabulum has pickled pieces of our protagonist’s paunch while portentous poetic prophecies proudly parade apace, parlaying a perilous paradigm. Paraphrasing: SKULLKICKERS is a particularly perfect packaged pamphlet of plucky pulp worth every precious penny in perpetuity. Purchase!”

Skull Kickers #3
First of all the “tripping sequence” are you serious? How can you relate that both verbally and visually any better in a comic book? Ridiculous! onto this issue, it rocks. I find myself flying through the pages, not because there is nothing on them of course, but because I get lost in this universe so well. This issue finds our heroes basically running into more trouble but ends with probably the best cliffhanger yet. I also want to make sure to throw some love at colors on this one. The sequence mentioned above and the glowing weapon, I mean come on can it get any more GORE-geous? another winning issue for this awesome series. Oh and thanks for the recipes.

Skull Kickers #4
Best cover of the series to date, mostly because that is one bad ass character design. This issue does 2 things that can easily sum up how great this series is. 1. The humor. From kicking your own ass to giving me “movie” quality subtitles, I mean are you serious? It’s genius! 2. Action. i mean we have 2 fantasy like characters who are designed to be action stars and in this issue they deliver on all fronts! Oh and remember how I said that the last issue had the best ending yet? I lied, this on does.

Dying Breath: 4.5 out of 5
I will try to make this as plan and simple as I can, READ THIS BOOK! Buy the singles, buy the trade, I don’t care but read this book. That’s it I just figured it out, it’s an 80’s buddy cop movie! I won’t say which one is Mel Gibson or Danny Glover, but that is the perfect way to kind of explain what is going on here. Action ✓, Humor ✓, Horror ✓the most fun I am having in comics right now ✓. It’s that simple.

If you would like to buy or know more about Skullkickers #3 & #4 you can find it at http://www.skullkickers.com/

Posted in: Reviews