Mush: The Indestructible Schmuck #1 – review

Posted on November 14, 2010

0


Issue: Mush #1
Writer: Isaac Landfert
Illustrator: Randy Valiente
Enhancement: Anne Youngs
Cover Art: Walter Rodriguez
Cover Enhancement: Matt Losure
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 12

“In every city there is a filthy underbelly. In this world there are all sorts of slimy black-hearted characters. Some were once good people who were broken by the world. Some were born nasty. Most are hopeless. They are just empty shells of people wandering the streets, frightening those who stumble into their nests. Mush is one of these people. He owes money to every slime ball possible. He has no self worth. He’s an addict. He’s given up. He stumbles through life with no thoughts of the future. Everyone pushes him around. There is only one thing that sets Mush apart from all the other schmucks in the city. Mush is indestructible. MUSH: THE INDESTRUCTILBE SCHMUCK is the story of Mush coming to learn the full extant of his supernatural abilities. He then becomes unlikely partners with a middle-aged vigilante to bring down the city’s most powerful crime syndicate.”

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
This is an alright looking book. Nice gray tones, nice character designs, but I just found that something was missing. I think maybe a little more detail here or there would have taken this book a little higher on the scale. However with what it does present it works, I liked the look of this book from start to finish.

Story: 3.0 out of 5
I gotta go a little lower on this one for one reason, I think that the description told me more than the story lead to telling me. Now that’s not a bad thing. The one thing you want to do with a #1 is introduce your character and get some interest on the story. That was done here, except for the fact that it was done in two different ways. Back story than main story. So we’ll see what comes next.

Dying Breath: 3.0 out of 5
Would I tell you to pass on this? Hell no, I love the concept and I think what comes from it can be almost limitless. I mean how often do you find someone who is indestructible? Add that to the fact that he’s going to be around to kick your ass when your done kicking his, and well, I’m sold. Nice artwork with a story that needed to go a little further is what I found here, but let it be known, I am looking forward to the next issue.

If you would like to buy or know more about Title you can find it at http://www.mush.thecomicseries.com/

Posted in: Reviews