The Last Zombie #2 – Review

Posted on October 27, 2010

1


Issue: The Last Zombie #2
Writer: Brian Keene
Artist: Joe Wight
Editor: Doug Dlin, Wes Hartman
Publisher: Name
Release Date: Spetember 2010
Pages: 32
Price: $3.99

“It’s been two years since the apocalypse. The zombie plague has (mostly) died down, but the world that remains is still a very dangerous place. Doctor Ian Scott and his team continue to brave it all as they travel from Colorado to West Virginia with two vital goals: deliver a potential zombie vaccine and find the woman Ian loves, if she isn’t dead—or undead. Brian Keene (Dead of Night: Devil Slayer, Doom Patrol) and Joe Wight (Twilight X) continue the first story-arc in this hot new survival-horror comic series from Antarctic Press!”

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5
How can I not love this book? Great artwork is just the tip of the iceberg here. I know that most people would thing a manga like quality would be found in a book by Antarctic Press, but this is not like the rest. I have to admit, I am in love with the GORE-Geous zombies, and I really wish they were on every single page. However the rest of the cast ain’t to shabby either. The problem I had with issue number 1 is back so I guess I won’t bring it up again, but the font chosen kills me because of the letter E! ARGH! That alone is not enough to make me take anything away from how great this book looks.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
When it comes to the story on this one, I kinda feel like I need more and I need it now. This issue starts off great, moves at a great pace and then is over. Making my little old head drip more blood than usual, because I just want more now! I don’t want to ruin anything on this, so I won’t go into a lot of detail, but they way it ended, with some new cast members I liked. While it is still a mystery where this one is headed, I can not wait for more. So give me more. NOW!

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
Artwork and story that I just fall in love with, make this one a winner in my book. I like that this book is not afraid to take on a genre, that some say is over saturated, with a new approach. There are questions in my mind that I hope get answered, like how long does it take a zombie to die over time? All in all I think I found a winner with this one. I do disagree with the small write-up by Keene though, who’s to say this book can’t stand with Deadworld, The Walking Dead or Crossed. Only time will tell, but for now, keep it up!

If you would like to buy or know more about The Last Zombie #2 you can find it at http://www.antarctic-press.com

Posted in: Reviews