Good Samaritan: Unto Dust #1

Posted on October 19, 2010

1


Issue: Good Samaritan: Unto Dust #1
Writer: Mike Luoma
Artist: Federico Guillen
Letters: Mike Luoma
Publisher: Glow-In-The-Dark Radio Comics
Release Date: Oct. 2010
Pages: 28

“Boston – 1965 – Father Bill Sullivan is a Roman Catholic priest with a secret – he has supernatural power that he thinks is a gift from God, and manifests as gold and purple, smoking, nebulous energy – he calls it the “Power of the Holy Spirit!” He uses it to fight crime at night as the masked vigilante Good Samaritan. He surrounds ne’er-do-wells with the power to force them to Confess and face their crimes. If he deems them guilty beyond redemption he uses his energy to turn them into Dust – “Remember Man That Thou Art Dust… And Unto Dust Thou Shall RETURN!”

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
Holy hell, pun intended, where did this guy come from! Wow is really all I can say on the interiors. Awesome facial work only leads it way into more great work. And I will have to say that there is this monster like cat floating around at one point where all I could think of was Steve Pugh. So why only a 4? Because the cover on this one doesn’t do the interiors justice. While I would have colored it too, I just think so much is taken away from Guillen’s style. Oh well it’s only minor. Overall great looking issue, I might even have to say it’s Gore-geous.

Story: 3.0 out of 5
Now this isn’t a bad 3 here, it’s a 3 that I want to see become a 4 by issue #2. I enjoyed the story a good deal as it went out, but I found it to be a little too sporadic. In one instance we were at point A, then on the next page we jumped to point C. I missed the middle ground in there. The dialogue was good, but again a little choppy. I found the action to be the highlight here though. I find the characters intriguing enough to come back and with a good cliffhanger ending I plan on it.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5
The basic summary to this issue is great artwork with a storyline that is trying to catch up. Now the story is not bad at all, I found it to be very cool, but with some gaps here and there it just didn’t live up to the look. While this may not be 100% horror, don’t take your attention away from it. I think there is something here that is going to really jump out and grab some people. So expect me to stay tuned to this one, I want to see where it’s going.

If you would like to buy or know more about Good Samaritan: Unto Dust #1 you can find it at http://www.glowinthedarkradio.com/

Posted in: Reviews