Bad Kids Go to Hell TPB – Review

Posted on September 16, 2010

0


Issue: Bad Kids Go to Hell TPB
Writers: Matt Spradlin, Barry Wernick
Artist: Anthony Vargas, Chris Allen
Colors: A.P. Colors
Letters: Lamar Pye
Editor: Doug Dlin, Wes Hartman
Publisher: Bad Kids Press
Release Date: Sept. 2010
Pages: 132
Price: $14.99

“Six spoiled rotten private school kids get locked in detention on a frightfully dark and stormy Saturday afternoon. Each of the six kids falls victim to a horrible ‘accident’ until only one of them remains. Is one of the kids secretly evening the school’s social playing field? Or have the ghosts of prestigious Crestview Academy finally come to punish the school’s worst (and seemingly untouchable) brats?

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5
This is one GORE-geous collection! It’s been a while since I took a look at these pages, since the single issues came out a little while back, but I was still in love with the way things turned out. I think that the character designs are just flat out great, sure we got the typical comic book styled school cast, but who cares, it looks good! Add to that some great coloring work, nice lettering and you got yourself a winner. Of course who can forget those drop dead scenes of horror, where someone get offed. Overall a great looking book that is added on when add in the extras with the trade.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
I am going to go a little lower on the story for one main reason, I thought the book bordered too much on the edge of good horror story vs. B-Style horror story. Now it’s not a bad thing at all, I just found at moments it was too cheesy and then a little to serious. So my horrible negativity aside, I now have to say how much I loved this story overall. I found the dialogue to be great throughout, nothing seemed choppy or to out of place. The twist was killer too. Just good stuff all around.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
So here is what I have to say to the creators, when can I expect more work from you guys? This book is great from the first page to the last. I love the artwork and am floored by the story. I don’t know if I would say it really mixed the two movies, but I can see the certain similarities. Bottom line is this, if you want to read something fun, this is it. If you want to read something creepy, this is it. If you want to read something I will be reading time and time again, this is it. Fantastic stuff, now start writing some more!

If you would like to buy or know more about Bad Kids Go to Hell TPB you can find it at http://badkidsgotohell.com/

Posted in: Reviews