Zombies vs. Cheerleaders: Geektacular #1 – Review

Posted on September 3, 2010

0


Issue: Zombies vs. Cheerleaders: Geektacular #1
Writers: Rich Koslowski, Steven Frank
Artists: Rich Koslowski, Jim Kyle, David Namisato
Colors: Rich Koslowski, John Hastings, Kathleen Lawday, David Namisato
Letters: Rich Koslowski, Josh Aitken,
Editor: Steven Frank
Publisher: Moonstone
Release Date: August 2010
Pages: 32
Price: $3.99

“The 3 Geeks are back! Disaster awaits The 3 Geeks as they find themselves at a Cheerleader camp (as Cheerleaders?!!!) infested with Zombies! Laughs and devastation follow. Plus, two killer back-up stories. Covers by Rich Koslowski, Jason Metcalf, Rich Bonk, and Patrick Finch. The back cover is sketch friendly!

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
Where to begin on this one? Lets start with the covers. There were 4 choices to go with on this one and I have to admit that they all rocked really hard. I had a hard time choosing, but my Jeff Balke coloring bias lead me to picking up the one you see posted with this review. I think overall they were all great. Now when it came to the interiors on this one I was pleasantly surprised. While all of the styles were different they all worked great with their stories. The best to me was at the end of the second story seeing the zombie on the couch, GORE- Geous!!!

Story: 3.0 out of 5
So I want to admit that I think I came off kind of hard on Zombies vs. Cheerleaders #1 when it came out. However I think if your going to be all B-Movie on something, make sure you don’t cross the line on trying to hard. As strange as it may sound it is easy to do. With that being said I went into this one a little more open-minded to the playful idea, and I was happier with the results. So again nothing here but a good old fashion zombie hoe-down, but it works. Again I point to the second story as my favorite.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5
So overall you’re getting some great artwork teamed up with some fun stories. Will it blow you away? No, but it is a fun read that may just take you away from the seriousness of something. So check it out for a good time, and I see that there are more on the way. So hopefully this series grows as it goes along. I know I will stay on board, because I loves me my zombie books.

If you would like to buy or know more about Zombies vs. Cheerleaders: Geektacular #1 you can find it at http://www.moonstonebooks.com/

Posted in: Reviews