So Buttons #3: So Horror-ble – Review

Posted on August 25, 2010

0


Issue: So Buttons #3: So Horror-ble
Writer: Jonathan Michael Baylis
Artist: David Beyer Jr., Thomas Boatwright, Danny Hellman, T.J. Kirsch
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 32
Price: $5.00

“Critically acclaimed author Jonathan Baylis is taking a somewhat different approach, presenting fictional tales of a more eerie vein. Collecting 4 Terrifying tales this is one hair raising issue that is not to be missed.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
I really have to admit I like the overall look and feel of this anthology issue. From the cover, which has been done before and yet still works so well, to the unique look of the 4 different stories on the inside. I won’t pick a favorite but I will say I lean towards the work of T.J. Kirsch the most. Like I said, it looks great and has a fun horror feel to it, so that makes it a winner in my book.

Story: 3.5 out of 5
It was almost a year ago when I reviewed the short “In the Head Please” which can be found in this issue, and it is still just as good as it was then. The writing on this issue is very strong from the first story to the last. I enjoyed the dialogue and the pace to which each story was set. However I didn’t really get how the first story fit into this book and I kind of felt that “In the Old Fashioned Way” reminded me of the movie Daybreakers a bit. However I thought it was the best story out the four presented.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
So overall I will say I enjoyed this book. I found the stories to have good depth to them, even though they were only shorts. The book looks great from start to finish and was a fun read. A few minor things here or there didn’t take anything away from the creativity of the issue. So I can easily add this book to my must read pile and recommend you do the same.

If you would like to buy or know more about So Buttons #3: So Horror-ble you can find it at http://www.sobuttons.com/

Posted in: Reviews