Mediterranea #1 – Review

Posted on August 12, 2010

0


Issue: Mediterranea #1
Plot/Environment: Giuliano Monni
Story: Alessandro Cenni
Pencils: Gianluca Maconi
Colors:
Alessia Nocera, Barbara Ciardo
Flats: Pierluigi Abbondanza
English Translation: Andrea Plazzi, Adam McGovern
Letters: Studio Blue
Editor/President: Giuliano Monni
Publisher: GG Studio
Release Date: August 2010
Pages: 28
Price: $2.99

“An epic fantasy set in an ancient Greek ‘techno-Byzantine,’ Mediterranea is menaced by a mysterious swarm. Winged creatures from the east threaten the peace of this kingdom, slaughtering anything that comes between them and their goal. Alonisso’s nightmares seem to be connected to these mysterious enemies, but not even the wise Auraki seems to know how.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
Is it sad to say that a book this good looking was, in my opinion, the worst looking one of the four released this week? Once again great pencils work paves the way for amazing colors. Just a great look to this book that is a joy for the eyes on every page. The only downside I really had, was the cover. I honestly found it a little misleading, and it is why I read this book last. I thought it had a water world style story to tell and it kinda put me off, but the interiors really look great.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
So like I mentioned about the cover, I expected something I didn’t get here. Instead I was treated to a really interesting story. It was kind of like a tale of fate, that really jumped into high gear at the end. So a good suspenseful ending leads me to want more, more and more! Great translations again, as the story is a great read.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
They did it ladies and germs, GG STUDIO went 4 for 4 in impressing me! This one ranked 3rd on my list of the 4 but to each his own. Great art and a really fun story make way for a good comic here that has a fantastic action ending that makes me want more now! So check it out already!

If you would like to buy or know more about Mediterranea #1 you can find it at http://ggstudiodesign.com/

Posted in: Reviews