The One #1 – Review

Posted on August 11, 2010

3


Issue: The One #1
Plot/Environment: Giuliano Monni
Story/Co-Plot: Davide Rigamonti
Pencils: Pasquale Qualano
Colors:
Alessia Norera, Andrea Erriro
Letters: Studio Blue
Editor/President: Giuliano Monni
Publisher: GG Studio
Release Date: August 2010
Pages: 28
Price: $2.99

“After an era of great peace The thirst for power is rising once more and its a thirst that can only be quenched with blood. War is looming once more in this grim and gritty fantasy tale, and with everything on the line, four heroes – Faras, Haggarth, Omir and Masdin – begin their dire quest for the glimmer of hope known as ‘The One,’ a legendary sword that lies waiting for the great battle to come!

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5
Oh man, you have got be kidding me. This is the second GG Studio book I am reviewing and is it just Gore-geous all around. The character designs are great, the shading is awesome and the coloring is a step above he rest. All together they combine to present one great looking book that I could stare at for hours, or is that the just female lead Faras I could stare at?

Story: 3.5 out of 5
So I am not a huge fan of the Lord of the Rings or Knights and sword fighting style fantasy stories. The only one that really got me interested were the Warlands books. That being said I do have a mindset going into this book. I liked the story that was presented but, there were a few instances where the wording kinda through me off. Trust me I know it is meant to fit the setting, like the way Thor speaks, but it’s kind of off-putting to me. Other than the minor dialogue issues I found the issue to intriguing and the plot is interesting enough for me to want to stay on board and see it played out.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
I’m 2 for 2 when it comes to these new imported comics from GG Studio (2 more to go). The artwork in this issue surpassed that writing, but like I mentioned I do carry a certain mindset into the story that may sway the way I think. However there is some good action and a fun developing storyline that make this a compelling book. I always ask you readers to take a step away from the mainstream books and maybe give something new a try. So by all means if you think this sounds good to you make sure to get your hands on a copy.

If you would like to buy or know more about The One #1 you can find it at http://ggstudiodesign.com/

Posted in: Reviews