Route Des Maisons Rouges #1 – Review

Posted on August 11, 2010

1


Issue: Route Des Maisons Rouges #1
Plot/Environment: Giuliano Monni
Story: Giuliano Monni
Pencils: Vincenzo Cucca
Colors:
Barbara Ciardo
English Translation: Andrea Plazzi, Adam McGovern
Letters: Studio Blue
Editor/President: Giuliano Monni
Publisher: GG Studio
Release Date: August 2010
Pages: 28
Price: $2.99

“The first part of the four issue Italian sensation, Route is the sexy and surreal satire set in a fantasy Parisian neighborhood that’s quite crowded with five brothels competing for control. The tenants are hot and hot-headed, and are caught up in in a five-way battle to make their maison the most powerful of all. Yet it’s all fun and games until the slimy mayor enters the picture… and then the girls might have found a common enemy big enough for them to forget their differences and work together.

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5
Stand up and shout! 3 for 3 on the amazing artwork from our friends at GG Studio in Italy. The world of Route Des Maisons Rouges is a gore-geous one, that borders on the line of a mature cartoon you would see on t.v. To me it was one of those books that when I go to remember what happened it actually plays itself out as a cartoon in my head. The art works well with the story, in that it is as playful and humorous as what is written. However please note that this is a mature book. Nudity is not found but look at the cover and expect to see what you think you will.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
Like I touched on at the end of the art section, make sure that cartoon style book stays in the hands of adults. The subject matter is on the mature side of things, but going from page 1 to page 28 I was presented with a book that made me laugh while still staying intrigued in the storyline. The jokes translate very well, and I applaud the translators for the overall great job that they did. The issue reads great and ends on a high note making me know I will have to grab issue #2 to find out what is coming next.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
So I won’t dive into my whole imported comics rock routine, but they really do. This is the third great book in a row by the Italian publisher and I just want everyone, of age, to take a look at this. I know that the American audience may initially dismiss the book based on the cover or the subject matter, but within these pages lay a lot of fun that is told to us by a different culture in regards to morals and what is acceptable subject matter. This book never crosses the line of an ADULT XXX comic, so it can appeal to most who are willing to take a chance. So once again looking for something new? A fan of Skydoll, Daffodil, Heavy Metal or just something different in comics? Give this one a try I highly enjoyed it and I hope you do too.

If you would like to buy or know more about Route Des Maisons Rouges #1 you can find it at http://ggstudiodesign.com/

Posted in: Reviews