Whispers in the Walls #1 – Review

Posted on August 8, 2010

1


Issue: Whispers in the Walls #1
Writer: David Munoz
Artist: Tirso
Colors: Javi Montes
Color Assistant: Silvia Villamisar
Translation: Alex Donoghue
US Edition Editor: Bob Silva
Publisher: Humanoids
Release Date: August 2010
Pages: 32
Price: $3.50

“A gothic tale of horror from David Muñoz (co-writer of Guillermo Del Toro’s THE DEVIL’S BACKBONE film) and artist Tirso. Czechoslovakia, 1949. What Evil lurks within the walls of an ancient Children’s Infirmary? After the murder of her parents Sarah, a young orphan, is about to discover just that.

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5
Oh now that’s nice. Is that vague enough for you? What a great looking issue. I have to start with the colors, they capture so perfectly what I see when I think of Europe post World War two. Very gray and kind of  drab looking. It sets the tone so well. So moving on to the panel work it is so well done. The scenes have the perfect amount of detail to them that they are not overpowering the storyline. The few monsters we do see in this issue look great as well. Overall I am really loving the look of this book.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
Most of you, if you follow my reviews, know I am a sucker for an imported story and this is no exception. I love the mystery that is built up with this issue. We get a great intro to the cast and find out a little bit about what is going on. It’s not enough to spoil anything that is coming and I can not wait to see what is up next. The dialogue is great and while I don’t know how it read in its original language the translations are done just right. A great cliffhanger ending has me easily coming back for more.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
Fantastic art and a great intro to this world make this one book I can easily recommend. I love the amount of information we were given with #1 because it just leads me to come back to find out what is next. The story is full of mystery and I can not stop looking at the pages. Overall it’s plain and simple, this is one Gore-geous book! Take a chance and step aside from your regular books and give this one a read. Matter of fact, give me a second here. . . yeah just as I thought it was even better the second time around.

If you would like to buy or know more about Whispers in the Walls #1 you can find it at http://www.humanoids.com

Posted in: Reviews