Salvaged: The Complete Unit Primes Collection – Review

Posted on August 4, 2010

0


Issue: Salvaged: The Complete Unit Primes Collection
Creator, Writer, Inks: Chris Dreier
Writer: Jacob Paplham
Pencils: Federico Zumel, Giuseppe D’Elia
Inks: James Keller
Publisher: Transfuzion Publishing
Release Date: Spring 2010
Pages: 150
Price: $16.99

Salvaged is an epic adventure about a man’s thankless quest to stop the mysterious killing machines known as the unit primes. The first story focuses on L-Bee, a young boy who survives the destruction of his planet by a unit prime, only to find himself aboard a space freighter of aliens banded together by their desire to stop the unit primes at any cost.  The second story catches up with L-Bee twenty-some years later. L-Bee, now the captain of his own freighter, still lives under the shadow cast by the unit primes.  His obsession only grows stronger when he stumbles across a deactivated prime at an intergalactic junkyard.  With the deactivated prime in tow, L-Bee makes it his mission to find out the prime’s origins and what exactly makes it tick.  Unfortunately for him, he may be doomed to repeat his past.

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5
Two stories, two artists and one awesome looking collected book. Yeah that sums up the artwork pretty well. This is a great looking collection that is in black and white, which works for the most part. I say that only because I wonder what colors some of the aliens really are. Aside from that I found the first chapter to have a great 90’s vibe to it, meaning it reminded me of some Spider-Man and Superman from when I was growing up, an almost serious yet comical look to it. The second chapter, which was darker in nature, had that exact kind of look to it.  There was never a time when I was trying to figure out what was going on or found myself lost at what I was looking at. And the idea for the Unit Primes was kinda genius because they look like fire hydrants, yet they scare the crap out of you.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
I won’t beat around bush here, I have to know more, like now! My big downside to this was the ending. I hate to say it because it is an amazing thrill ride I want to go on again and again. When I got to that final page though I felt let down a little. I mean it is an amazing cliffhanger which would drive anyone to want to know more but it just didn’t feel right. So aside from that great dialogue and a really great idea. I am not an outright fan of Sci-Fi genre but this one was really good. Plenty of action and a well thought out and nicely paced plot make this one a good read in my book.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
Two great stories are collected here in this fun futuristic tale. The artwork stands above the story only because of the ending. It was too big of a cliffhanger in my book, but that doesn’t take anything away from the story that came before. A good mix of action, mystery and plenty of thrills Salvaged is a great piece for the Sci-Fi comic fan to own and from someone who isn’t a fan to give a try. I can only hope we get more from this is the future because I have to know what is going to happen next.

If you would like to buy or know more about Salvaged: The Complete Unit Primes Collection you can find it at http://www.transfuzion.biz

Posted in: Reviews