Legends: The Enchanted OGN – Review

Posted on June 30, 2010

2


Trade: Legends: The Enchanted OGN
Created, Written & Illustrated: Nick Percival
Letters: Richard Starkings, Comiccrafts Jimmy Betancourt
Designer: Moyo Studios
Editor: Renae Geerlings
Publisher: Radical Publishing
Release Date: June 2010
Pages: 130
Price: $19.95
Edition: Hard Cover, Full Color

“You think you know them… Think again!  Violently ripped from the pages of folklore emerge the Enchanted. This band of supernatural immortals inhabit a steampunk realm, infested by nightmarish creatures, where nature, technology and foul magic are in constant conflict. When the mutilated remains of the half-wooden, half-mechanical warrior, Pinocchio are discovered, wolf-hunter Red Hood and giant-killer Jack realize that their protective spell of immortality has been broken. Jack and Red, with the help of the other Enchanted mercenaries such as Goldilocks and psychic exterminators Hansel and Gretel, team up on an adventure to stop whatever, or whoever, is eliminating their powers and destroying their kind.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
Oh wow! I mean wow! Looking back at this I can only wonder how long it took Nick Percival to create this book. My guess is a year from start to finish, working on it 24-7 every single day of the year. The pages are so pretty I almost cried a few times. In all seriousness though the detail and time put into the look of every page is nothing short of amazing. That being said at times it was a little too dark for me to decipher the image. That took nothing away from the whole though, as this book will just dazzle your visual senses. I honestly have to say that my favorite page was the final one of the story, with Red diving into the pack of wolves. I could just go on and on forever. Lets just boil it all down to this, if you know the quality you will get with a Radical title then you know what in store. If you have never read a Radical Book or Comic prepare to be blown away with some of the world’s best digital art courtesy of Mr. Percival.

Story: 4.5 out of 5
So the art is top-notch, but the story takes this book to a whole new level. What level would that be Dan? Well the one where I say you need to own this book. I have seen various takes on the Fairy Tale characters over the years, some are too boring, while others are too childish but this one was made just for me. Like what I did there. Okay anyways, basically what we have here is a post apocalyptic world, that is a mix of so many genres, I wouldn’t even know here to start. The story is ripe full of action and some great dialogue. I mean sure it’s your basic hero vs. villain story but it’s so solid from start to finish I couldn’t put it down and I am putting it on my must read list of 2010.

Dying Breath: 4.5 out of 5
Solid work from start to finish just make this the perfect book. The artwork will amaze you while the story is so far past creepy that it shines on its own. This is the perfect way to do an OGN, because it works on all levels. Some panels were a little off, but on the whole there was nothing here to hate and plenty to love. I suggest anyone who reads Heavy Metal, Fables or even Archie to pick this one up, and tell me they didn’t like it. Fantastic work that I want to see more of in the future. There is so much spin-off potential oozing out here that there had better be more coming down the pipes. Plain and simple read this book, Radical is producing more top of the line work than most companies and it needs to start being noticed. One last note to Nick Percival, you sir are an artist I want more from now!

If you would like to buy or know more about Legends: The Enchanted you can find it at your LCS or at http://www.radicalpublishing.com/

Posted in: Reviews