Silber Media Matchbook Comics: Mecha #1, Marked #2, Worms #6 – Reviews

Posted on June 13, 2010

0


*Note: Just a quick take on why I am doing all three of these on the same post. Silber Media makes mini-comics the size of a pack of matches. The Size of the pictures are the size of the comics! So due to the size, and amount of content within each, I am reviewing them all on the same post. But they are the coolest little concept, very original idea which I highly applaud.

Issue: Mecha #1
Writer: Brian John Mitchell
Artist: Johnny Hoang
Publisher: Silber Media
Pages: 32
Price: $1.00

“Mecha is our 70s sci-fi mini-comic.  The story of a failed revolutionary fighting his alien overlords.

Dying Breath: 4.5 out of 5
Wow! This book is larger in size than the other two, and I think I know why. It is to showcase how much more I liked it over the other two. Very solid artwork on each page, especially for only being 2.5″ squares. Nice detailed work in those spaces. The story is very entertaining and nicely written. A great #1 that covers all of it’s major plot points and gets you ready for what is next to come. I loved it!

___________________________________________________

Issue: Marked #2
Writer: Brian John Mitchell
Artist: Jeremy Johnson
Publisher: Silber Media
Pages: 52
Price: $1.00

“A demon hunter is pulled out of retirement. Think Sin City where the monsters aren’t humans.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
Possibly missing out on the first issue left this one left me a little confused. There was a nice recap on the first page though so I wasn’t stumbling around in the dark. The artwork in this minibook is really nice. Great shading work, much like it says in their quote comparing it to Sin City. So minus a few points on the confusion, but overall a good paced nice looking action filled issue.  I should add that the artwork in this book is 1.5″ x 1.75″ it’s a lot of fun in a small package.

___________________________________________________

Issue: Worms #6
Writer: Brian John Mitchell
Artist: Kimberlee Traub
Publisher: Silber Media
Pages: 44
Price: $1.00

“Worms is a sci-fi/horror mini-comic.  It is an adventure story with dream like qualities in the style of Lovecraft & Kafka.

Dying Breath: 2.5 out of 5
The recap page didn’t help me too much on this one. I was confused, but the writing style came off to me as very poetic and it just flowed. So give or take I didn’t know what was going on, what I did read was really nice. The main problem I had with this one was the art. I just didn’t get behind the style. I get the fluid form to represent the worms and their movement, but I just found it to be not on the same line as the story. So maybe if I had a better grasp of the other issues I would have enjoyed this one a bit more.

If you would like to buy or know more about title you can find it at http://silbermedia.com/

Posted in: Reviews