iZombie #1 – Review

Posted on May 19, 2010

0


Issue: iZombie #1
Writer: Chris Roberson
Artist: Mike Allred
Colors: Laura Allred
Letters: Todd Klein
Cover Artists: Mike Allred, Darwyn Cooke
Editor: Shelly Bond
Publisher: Vertigo
Release Date: May 2010
Pages: 24
Price: $1.00

“Gwen Dylan is a gravedigger in an eco-friendly cemetery…and a zombie detective. Once a month, she has to eat a human brain – both to keep from going all “Night of the Living Dead,” and to keep her own memories intact. As a result, Gwen’s mind is crowded with the dead person’s thoughts. And lately, she feels compelled to fulfill their final requests. Torn between a mysterious mummy and a dashing young monster-hunter, Gwen is set for adventures beyond imagination! A were-terrier, a swinging ’60s ghost and a pack of paintball blasting vampires complete the cast of I, ZOMBIE.

Artwork: 3.0 out of 5
I don’t really think I am a big fan of Mike Allred’s style. I looked up some of his past work and I just don’t get a good vibe from it. This issue in particular seemed a little flat to me. It had that cartoon 60’s/70’s look. I don’t want to say he’s a bad artist but this style didn’t appeal to me. The panels were nicely done and the characters all had a fun look to them but nothing really got me to really enjoy it.

Story: 3.0 out of 5
Like the artwork I felt that the story was just flat. I didn’t see much of any appeal to horror fans here. The Were-terrier was kind of a funny idea though, because I wouldn’t buy that guy as a werewolf. I guess it had more of a played down old school vibe. that played well with the art. I just don’t see how an Archie/Hardy Boys style story idea can play out. I mean we already have Chew.

Dying Breath: 3.0 out of 5
Alright I was holding off on this until the end, Girlish, not ghoulish, but girlish. I don’t see much appeal to guys on this one. Then again please keep in mind I approach this with a horror comic mindset. The artwork and story feel like nothing but a throwback and the main idea at the end is already being done, in some fashion, in a fantastic book by Image. I think most horror fans will pass on this one, but I can see a little bit while it will appeal to the masses.

If you would like to know more about iZombie you can find it at http://www.dccomics.com/vertigo/

Posted in: Reviews