The Shelter (One Shot) – Review

Posted on March 24, 2010

1



Issue: The Shelter
Writer:
Jamison Kasian
Pencils: Dwayne Biddix
Inks: Rob Lansley
Letters: Dwayne Biddix
Publisher:
Hard Way Studios
Release Date:
April 2010
Pages:
28
Price:
$2.99

“Silence.  True Silence.  The actual absence of sound.  It’s one of the strangest things you can ever experience.  It’s….un-nerving.  No car engines.  No humming electricity.  No planes flying overhead.  No people walking their dogs.  No birds chirping.  No squirrels…squirrel-ing.  A world cast into infinite silence.

Join us on this Zombie adventure as we get to know Violet, a young lady destine to find a safe haven from the infestation that left her alone, scared and with no where else to turn, dependant upon herself to survive.  Can she make it in time or is the end of the world to tight of a deadline?!”

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5.0
This is another great looking issue by this crew. I love that they kept it black and white. It just adds that nice extra touch to keep the mood going strong throughout. The character designs are great, great looking zombies and I can’t help but say again that Biddix’s style has a hint of Gabe Rodriquez in it, and it makes me like it that much more.

Story: 4.0 out of 5.0
So the story in this one wasn’t exactly what I expected. That’s not to say it was bad in any way, I just didn’t expect to read this based off of the cover. I was surprised that this style and approach worked so well. This too me was more of an internal struggle story, that just read so well. Great action and build up. I could totally see this one being turned into a short film, or TV Episode. Just great job overall.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5.0
Great artwork and story really sell this book. The characters look great and the story wasn’t what I was expecting but I was happy to see how it turned out. This is another great book by Hard Way Studios and it just makes me excited to see what else they will have coming up. Check out this book, you damn zombie lovers, you won’t be let down.

If you would like to buy or know more about The Shelter please check out http://www.hardwaystudios.com/

Posted in: Reviews