We Will Bury You #1 – Review

Posted on March 8, 2010

0


Issue: We Will Bury You #1
Writers:
Brea Grant, Zane Grant
Artist: Kyle Strahm
Colors: Zac Atkinson
Letters: Robbie Robbins
Editor: Denton J. Tipton
Cover: Ben Templesmith
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date:
February 2010
Pages:
24
Price:
$3.99

“1927: The first talkie ended the silent film era, the first man completed a solo transatlantic flight, and…a zombie virus decimated the human race. Two unlikely heroines use their unorthodox skills to survive as a zombie infection spreads through the streets of New York and beyond. Brea Grant (Heroes) and Zane Grant promise the worst breakup ever and an epic beginning to this historical horror miniseries.

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
This is a descent looking issue that I think was brought down because of the use of color. I am starting to really love seeing books in black and white and I just wonder what this may have looked like if it was presented that way. However I think that the art style is really fitting to the storyline. I like the jagged look of the characters and think it plays well with the zombie story. I was put off a little on the style choice for Fanya as her clothing seemed a lot more modern at the start. I think that the colors were a bit overpowering in some cases, but in the end I will say that this is a great looking issue.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
So flappers and zombies huh? It works here, and it works well. One thing I want to point out here is that you get a good amount of story for the price. This is a very wordy issue and it plays great with building the characters and explaining the storyline. One thing that got me though was the lack of care that the two main characters had for what was going on around them. Very Shaun of the Dead like, and I wonder if that will continue or if it will change in issues #2. It was very comical in this case though.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
I liked it. Plain and simple. I think that the art style is really working well here and adds a more classic look to a modern comic. Story wise I like the concept and how everything was presented here. You got a good dose of what is going on and who the main cast is. So overall this is worth checking out and I think it will be another solid zombie mini series from IDW.

If you would like to know more about or purchase a copy of We Will Bury You #1 please go to http://www.idwpublishing.com/

Posted in: Reviews