Crazies 1-4 – Review

Posted on March 3, 2010

1


Issues: The Crazies 1-4
Writers:
Joshua Hale Fialkov, Ivan Brandon, Mark Andreyko, Brian Reed
Artists: Rahsan Ekedal, Jon Buran, Chris Dibari, Hugo Petrus, Vincent Spencer
Letters: Troy Peteri (all)
Covers: Ben Templesmith (1,2,4) Jeffrey Spokes (3)
Publisher: Top Cow Productions
Release Date:
February 2010
Pages:
32 (combined)
Price:
$2.99 (each)

“The exclusive four-issue prequel to the upcoming blockbuster horror film THE CRAZIES from Overture Films begins here. Meet Rory Hamill, aka ‘Patient Zero’, the first victim of a pathogenic rage that will change the world as we know it. Something is wrong with the water supply in Hopman Bog and the ramifications are lethal for all involved. Can a simple farmer stand in the way of a biological terror the likes of which have never been seen before? The results will not be for the squeamish.

Issue #1“Hopman Bog” – 3.0 out of 5.0
This is the one issue that took me a little bit to get into. It had a shaky start to it but found its legs and then kinda of took off. While story wise, it was not as appealing as the rest it was one of the stronger issues art wise. I did like how the story built up throughout but I guess I just didn’t buy the main character going crazy as well as I did in the others.

Issue #2 , “Dwyer Creek” – 3.5 out 5.0
I enjoyed this issue, it was easily number 2 on my list. I found the writing on this one to be the most intense. You had great dialogue between the main character and his crazy side as they slowly became one. I really enjoyed turning each page as the story just kept building and building to a strong finish. Art wise though, I found this issue to be kinda to be one of the weaker ones. That is not to say the art was bad, it was good, but just in comparison it just was not as good as the others.

Issue #3, “Black Pond” 3.0 out of 5.0
I was debating on this one whether it should be 3rd or 4th out of the issues. If it wasn’t for the stronger ending I don’t think I would rank it higher than issue #1. The writing in this one isn’t too bad, I like how you can see him going crazy as he starts to see things. Even two characters from issue #2 make a brief cameo. The artwork in this issue is nice but nothing spectacular. Just another okay issue.

Issue #4, “Ogden Marsh” 4.0 out of 5.0
That brings us to the final and strongest issue of the set. This issue was simply the most fun of the four. If I were at the comic shop, based on the cover alone I would have grabbed this one. The interior art play well with the storyline. The story here isn’t really deep, but just full of sheer crazy antics. Then, even though I kind of saw it coming, the end was just done right. Easily the best issue.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5.0
Overall this is a fun group of books. I was kinda wondering why all four issues came out on the same day though. I saw that originally 1 & 2 were supposed to come out a week before 3 & 4 but even that seems odd. If you ask me a trade would have been the right way to go. Each issue had a unique story and artwork. That aside though I suggest if you have to get them wait for the trade or just grab issue #4.

If you would like to purchase the copies of The Crazies you can grab them at your local comic shops. To know more about Top Cow please go to http://www.topcow.com/Site/index.html

Posted in: Reviews