The Punisher #12 – Review

Posted on January 14, 2010

0


Issues: The Punisher #12
Writer: Rick Remender
Artist: Tony Moore
Colors: Dan Brown
Letters: VC’s Joe Caramagna
Cover: Mike McKine, Morry Hollowell
Editors: Sebastian Girner, Alex Alonso
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: January 2009
Pages: 28
Price: $2.99

The Punisher is dead, so who, or what, is the giant patchwork monster skulking through the tunnels under New York? And what do those strange armored Japanese hunters tracking him want? Criminals are no longer being killed; they are simply vanishing into thin air. Listen closely, you can hear their pleas far below the streets. Those forgotten by society have a new protector. The Legion of Monsters has found a new leader.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
I have to admit I have a soft spot for some Tony Moore. Whether it was Fear Agent or The Exterminators I have always just loved the look of his work. This issue falls into the same class as those great titles. I really like the sketchy style he is using here and all of the monsters just look fabulous, except of one. I can not get over how Morbius comes off. He just seems to old. That aside though, the colors shine and the cover rocks. Overall a great looking issue.

Story: 3.5 out of 5
I will make this very clear, I am judging this issue on the story presented. Just like Moore, I am a huge Remender fan, and while this issue has some great moments I felt it was kind of slow. Sure I get that we need time to build up the new Frank and his location, but there was not too much to really keep me going within the issue. The dialogue is great but the pacing seemed off. As a while though we get some nice progress and a good ending to take us into the next issue.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5
I liked this issue overall. I think if you can look at it withing itself and not at what you expect, you’ll find a fun twist on an old classic. And who doesn’t love some Legion of Monsters! The artwork is great in this one while the story slowly moved along, but I know I will be on board to see how Frank handles this new situation.

If you would like to know more about The Punisher you can go to http://www.marvel.com/

Posted in: Reviews