Incarnate Series (#1-3) – Review

Posted on December 16, 2009

0


Issues: Incarnate #1,2 and 3
Creator and Writer:
Nick Simmons
Pencils: Nick Simmons
Inker:
Matt Dalton
Colors:
Brian Buccellato, Dami Digital
Assistant Artists:
Nam Kim, Shi Hua Wong & Ben Harvey of Studio IL
Letters:
Rob Steen
Editor: Tim Beedle
Covers: Jo Chen
Publisher: Radical Publishing
Release Date:
August – December 2009
Pages:
160 (combined)
Price:
$4.99 (each)

“They cannot die. They feel no pain. They hunger for human flesh. They are Revenants. Centuries ago, the Revenant known as Mot was worshipped as a God. Now, he walks the Earth in search of a purpose to his immortality – but when a secret society discovers a way to kill Revenants, Mot and his fellow immortals must make a choice: Hunt or be hunted. Nick Simmons’ breakout American Manga title reveals a world that challenges even the imagination, planting its tongue firmly in cheek, then biting it off…And swallowing it.

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
To me this series was either really on at point or it was off. I was actually surprised to see this manga style used in a Radical book, as it is that much different from all of the other books so far. So what worked is that fact  that when I was done reading them all I honestly thought I had just sat down and watched a movie. It all flowed so well that I was honestly amazed. Even while reading it just had that kind of effect on me. What threw me off though was the character designs. I got that they fit within the style, but they weren’t always consistent from panel to panel. However that is just a minor aspect of the whole. The colors pop off of every page and there are some really cool looking death scenes.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
The storyline here shocked me. I will admit that I was on the fence with this title, but after reading the first issue I was sold on the fact that I would get something great to read. Like I mentioned with the artwork, this whole thing just felt like a movie. Great dialogue and a killer storyline. I really liked where Nick took the idea of vampires too. He went away from the norm and gave this universe’s characters their own origin. I do want to point out that after reading the first issue I kinda got the feeling that #2 and 3 didn’t really seem to go along the same action lines. It was like the story shifted completely to another setting. While it works in the long run I was kinda scratching my head after #1. Overall though I was more than happy when I was done and can not to see where this cast can go in the future.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
Alright I was holding off on saying this until the end but here goes. I was on the fence with this title originally because of the fact the Nick Simmons has a famous dad. This is only the second Radical title I have passed on when it came out, and I regret it. What I got here was a story that was original, fresh and needed. I think with the way society is trying to soften vampires, we need books like this. The horror fans need to be reminded that these are dark creatures. I say Bravo to Nick and the whole cast on this one because I enjoyed every second of it. Read this series and then go read every series Radical is putting out. There is a reason why they choose the stories they do and this is yet another example of what you should be reading.

If you would like to know more about or purchase the copies of Incarnate please go to http://www.radicalcomics.com.

Posted in: Reviews