The Field on the Edge of the Woods: Book 1 – Review

Posted on December 13, 2009

0


Issue: The Field on the Edge of the Woods: Book 1
Writer:
Mike “Frick” Weber
Pencils: Gary Morgan
Inks: Loran Skinkis
Publisher: Films and Comics
Release Date:
December 2009
Pages:
48
Price:
$3.99

“Just beyond the final breath of our years, lies a field…The field on the edge of the woods. To the North, The Great White Wall, a beacon of hope on remorseless landscape, and to the South…The Woods, the dark twisted closet of the world…A place that never forgives, and never forgets.

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
This is a really nice looking comic. The character designs are solid and consistent. Hands down I love the reaper and little demons. They just put a big smile on my face. The inking is spot on and gives each panel that extra touch to just make it shine through. I also really liked the design with the wording fading in and out in first section of the book. It added to the overall look and feel what was need. Great job.

Story: 3.0 out of 5
I really think they got something good to build on here but I was a little lost towards the end. I don’t mean to say that the book isn’t solid all the way through, because it is. What I mean is that I am not sure I really see how the two settings will flow together just yet. The dialogue is done nicely with some great bits of humor here and there. I really can;t wait to see where the story goes so I can get a better grasp on it all as a whole.

Dying Breath: 3.5 out of 5
To me the artwork stood out a bit more than the actual story in this one but overall I just have the feeling that this book is really going somewhere good. The idea is different and that’s what it takes to get out there and be noticed. Check this one out it combines nice elements of horror and action on top of a story that has some good depth.

If you would like to know more about or purchase a copy of The Field on the Edge of the Woods please go to http://www.filmsandcomics.com. You can also grab a copy on amazon.com. Also don’t forget to check out the trailer for the issue on youtube.com

Posted in: Reviews