Asylum of Horrors #2 – Review

Posted on December 2, 2009

0


Issue: Asylum of Horrors #2
Writers and Artists:
Tim Vigil, Frank Forte, Symon Billy George, Riste Sekuloski, Nenad Gucunja, Marcin Ponomarew
Cover: Aly Fell
Publisher: Asylum Press
Release Date:
October 2009
Pages:
64
Price:
$4.95

“This anthology features a great collection of disturbing tales for the discerning horror fan. A programmer gets double-crossed by a greedy girlfriend, ‘Survival Extinction Z’ takes place in a post-apocalyptic Earth, giant worms confront Armageddon, a man finds truth and horror in a classic painting, and a mad doctor tries to find the source for a voice inside his head.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
There are a few things that really disturb me visually. One of them is a dark bleak looking future. You can see things like this in 80’s movies. Maybe it’s just childhood trauma from watching them but it just gets me. That’s what works so well in this issue. It just gets me creeped out instantly and I love it. The mood set by the artwork in all of these stories just shines through. To me the highlight, other than the amazing cover, was the work of Billy George. His art style is so different compared to the rest that it easily stands out to me. Overall though you can not go wrong by enjoying the look of this issue.

Story: 3.5 out of 5
So while the artwork sets up a great atmosphere for these stories to live in, I just didn’t think they could match up. Now don’t get me wrong I was highly entertained from start to finish, but I didn’t think that the dialogue flowed well in certain stories. My favorite of the stories was Jacked. I am just a sucker for the things that come from Frank Forte’s mind.

Dying Breath: 3.7 out of 5
So overall I liked it. I just have a thing for Asylum’s titles. The more I think about it they really have this edge to them that just feels like your reading an issue of Heavy Metal. If I had one main gripe it would be that some of the stories were done to carry over into the next issue. While it will get me to grab the next one, I would have liked this issue to be self contained only because I don’t know exactly when #3 will come out. Other than that this issue is great. I like to see what can come from asylum Press because they don’t hold anything back and it works every single time.

If you would like to know more about or purchase a copy of Asylum of Horrors #2
please go to http://asylumpress.com/ and http://www.asylumofhorrors.com

Posted in: Reviews