Blokes Tomb of Horror #1 – Review

Posted on October 6, 2009

0


Issue: Blokes Tomb of Horror #1
Writers:
Jason Crawley, Anthony Ruggiero, Enrico Teodorani
Artists:
Fernando Ignatius, Ju Gomez, Anthony Ruggiero, Manolo, Wulf
Letters: Jason Crawley, Anthony Ruggiero, Enrico Teodorani
Publisher: Virus Comix
Release Date:
September 2009
Pages: 40
Price: $3.99

“The first issue in an ongoing series of anthologies from Virus Comix featuring work from regular contributors along with that of other artists and writers who have joined forces to bring you a collection of tales to send shivers down your spine and to make you think twice before you enter the realm of the Tomb of Horror!

Artwork: 4.1 out of 5
The artwork in this issue is amazing. I couldn’t decide on one style to like over another. I just loved everyone’s work. If I have to say one I would go with Fernando Ignatius, I am just such a fan of the cartoonish style. The other strong point here on the art is the shading. Each story pops off the pages very well. A perfect look for this book. 

Story: 3.8 out of 5
While the artwork was on point I didn’t feel that the writing was quite there just yet. I think that Jason Crawley’s writing is improving very nicely, especially if you compare his two stories in this issue. With Anthony Ruggiero’s story I was interested up until the end where I thought it was a little bit rushed. Overall though the stories do complete the issue nicely and you won’t be cut short.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
This is how to start off an anthology issue right. The artwork will draw you in and the stories are good enough to keep your focus on the book. While I think that the artwork shines above the stories, I know that there is more in store. That being said I hope that with issue #2 and up this series continues to grow and develop more. This issue is a great starting point. Awesome stuff.

If you would like to buy Blokes Tomb of Horror you can go to indyplanet.com or at http://viruscomix.ning.com/

Posted in: Reviews