Rotten #1 & 2 – Review

Posted on September 29, 2009

0


Issues: Rotten #1 & 2
Writers:
Mark Raner, Robert Horton
Artists:
Dan Dougherty
Letters: Tom Long, Sean Konot
Publisher: Moonstone
Release Dates:
July & August 2009
Pages: 52, 28
Price: $5.99, $3.99

“A new twist on Zombies with action, horror, and the uncomfortably recognizable in the old West! A stop-lossed Army vet. A president in office without the popular vote. A terror crisis gripping the nation! Meet William Wade, newly minted – and seriously resentful – secret agent for President Rutherford B. Hayes. His mission with cerebral partner J.J. Flynn: travel the West and investigate outbreaks of the living dead – each one more horrifyingly advanced than the last. For Wade, 1877 is turning out to be one rotten year.

A girl’s bizarre condition has polarized a town. Is she alive or dead? Her family will do anything for her, and a seriously injured Agent Wade is their captive. Only his wits and a ticking clock stand between him and the ravenous thing the girl has become. Meanwhile, Agent Flynn rides the countryside in a ruthless search for him. It’s horror and suspense like you’ve never seen in the Old West!

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
I really like the artwork in this series so far. The character designs look nice and stay solid from panel to panel. The zombies shine too. I love a nicely drawn zombie, just make you smile. The coloring works very nicely which I think at times you can find overdone with people just going for blood effects everywhere. Nice job so far! 

Story: 3.4 out of 5
Here’s my beef, I love the action sequences. The rest of the book is a lot of talk. Now that’s not bad at all, because spending $4 with not actual story is idiotic. However I think that the story parts are to boring. It seems as if there is buildup to a point and then it just flat lines. You get some good Western points and some nice horror points but I can not seem to jump on board 100% just yet. I will say issue #2 was more interesting than #1. So I hope it can maintain that upward shift.

Dying Breath: 3.6 out of 5
Mixing genre’s here work’s, but needs to be more exciting. I like what the main idea is, just want to see it pick up on the action more. The artwork is gore-geous I just think at the moment it is what is selling me on this series and I would like to see it get more of a balancing act going on.

If you would like to buy Rotten you can probably get it at your LCS or get it through Haven. To find out more about Moonstone please go to http://www.moonstonebooks.com/

Posted in: Reviews