Pandora’s Garage: The Misguided – Review

Posted on September 24, 2009

2


Issue: Pandora’s Garage: The Misguided (issues 3 & 5)
Writer:
Alan Bennett
Artists:
Alan Bennett
Editors: Carrie Brawn, Rowan Watson
Publisher: Black Box Comics
Release Dates:
2007 & 2008
Pages: 22
Price: $4.95

In The Misguided a ancient evil is released from a quarantined planet using a unsupecting vessel.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
The artwork in these stories grows on me so fast. The first installment in issue #3 is so retro looking. It has just solid blacks with minor shading and it screams 70’s sci-fi horror. I LOVE IT. In part two there is a minor shift in style but it still works so well. To me it looks like it was done on scratch board which flips the black and white. The characters are still spot on in both and together then just shine. 

Story: 3.8 out of 5
It’s kinda hard to judge a two part story when you know more is to come but as a whole it equals one standard comic. That being said the story is depressing. Not depressing in a way to say that it’s crap and I wouldn’t read it again. But it has that dark feel of sci-fi and horror that make you sleep with the lights on at night. It’s the same feeling I get when I watch the Alien movies. Awesome job so far.

Dying Breath: 3.8 out of 5
So your probably wondering why I just chose one story from these two anthologies. Well to be honest it was the one that stood out the most to me and they were the ones with a horror theme. That being said the other stories in them are worth checking out. Now onto the story at hand, it rocks. The art style is spot on and the story is very good. Like I said it leaves me feeling creeped out and trapped and well, that’s an alright thing in my book. Check out Pandora’s Garage, you get different genre’s for your anthology love and you will like it!

If you would like to buy Pandora’s Garage or find out more about Black Box Comics please go to http://indyplanet.com

Posted in: Reviews