Planet Lovecraft #1 – Review

Posted on September 19, 2009

0


Issue: Planet Lovecraft #1
Writers:
K.L. Young, Lee Davis
Artists:
D.E. Christman, John Fulton, Lee Davis, Tim Sparvero
Publisher: Lightning Strikes Twice Entertainment and Saturna Ink
Release Date:
January 2008
Pages: 56
Price: $7.99

“Frightening first issue! Sparvero’s “The Nameless City”, Davis’ “Cadaverizer”, Young and Fulton’s “Knightgaunt”; interview, book review. Cover by D.E. Christman, additional art by Allen K!”

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
Alright this is a tough one to judge and come up with a combination rating to be honest. The first story’s artwork was kind of plain and had some rough edges. But basing that against the other two stories in this issue I have to say it all worked out well. I personally am a big fan Lee Davis’ style. It’s so unique, fresh and fun. The final story by Sparvero started off really nice, but towards the end it came off as a completely different look by the way it was shaded. Overall though they all work together just fine and you get a nice finished book.

Story: 3.2 out of 5
Now I know I said it before but I am a Lovecraft newbie. So reading the stories I look at them more from a horror aspect than what they might actually represent in terms of the Lovecraft world. What I mean by that are the character names, I don’t know how to associate them. But that aside, I liked the way these stories played out. The dialogue in the first two was nice. Interactions were good on there was some good humor in “Cadaverizer”. But you can easily tell that it was a first effort. I have read #4 and I know that it gets better so no worries!

Dying Breath: 3.4 out of 5
A nice first effort on putting a collection together. You get 3 comic stories and 2 news articles. I love where this series is headed. It is unique and a must for Lovecraft fans. The stories range from Action to Humor to Horror, last I check that’s some good range. I can not wait to dive into issues 2 and 3 and see what lurks within them. This series is only going to get better as it goes along and I am onboard.

If you would like to get Planet Lovecraft Magazine #1 please go to http://planetlovecraftmagazine.com/ or get your comic shop to order it through Haven Distribution

Posted in: Reviews