The Killing Jar #1 – Review

Posted on September 13, 2009

0


Issue: The Killing Jar #1
Writer / Creator:
Justin Zimmerman
Pencils:
Russell Brown
Lettering and Design: Shannon Zimmerman
Inks: Tom Jacobs
Cover: Logen & Justin Zimmerman
Publisher: Bricker-Down Productions
Release Date:
July 2009
Pages: 24
Price: $4.00

“A small Colorado town. Three drug runners with a van filled with product. Two police officers investigating suspicious activity. A heroic young woman with a violent past, a mentally handicapped little brother and her dead father’s .38 police special. And a throng of ravenous townspeople out of their minds with drug lust. Mix and…BANG!

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
This issue looks amazing. It has that great look that doesn’t need any words for you to just love the issue. The characters and settings are so solid and consistent from panel to panel. In some places the pencil work is kinda too gray for my taste, I would have liked to see some more inking done but overall all it is solid. My only gripe was with the cover. I just feel that it plays down what you find on the inside. Overall though solid work!

Story: 3.6 out of 5
The story runs at a nice pace. You get an nice introduction to who’s who and what’s going on. I would have liked to have been given more within the comic part of the issue. At the end there is a nice section where the setting and characters are laid out. My problem with this is, it came at the end. I think that summing it up more and placing it just on the first page would have made it easier for me to tie things together while I read it. Then when I get to the end give me the full version. That way I’m not learning what’s going on after I get through the story. But overall the dialogue is great, the idea I just love and I can’t wait to know more.

Dying Breath: 3.8 out of 5
The artwork shines above the story in the first issue but reading the full synopsis of what’s coming I know that there will be an amazing balance. This is one I could easily get hooked on and I already know I want to dive right into issue #2. This is one that is worth checking out and I know it will only get better. Fantastic stuff.

If you would like to know more about The Killing Jar and to purchase copy please go to comixpress.com

Posted in: Reviews