Jenna Blue OGN – Review

Posted on September 7, 2009

0


Issue: Jenna Blue OGN
Creator:
Jason M Burns
Writer: Jason M Burns
Artist: Steve Gendron, Ciaran Lucas
Cover Artist: Nick Bradshaw
Publisher: Outlaw Entertainment
Release Date:
July 2009
Pages: 112
Price: $7.99

“Jenna Blue is the story of a ruthless female assassin with pale blue skin, a condition so rare that only a small handful share in it. When Jenna discovers her most recent targets all have the similar pigmented epidermis, a mystery unfolds, revealing that she and others like her may be the result of a genetic experiment that first began in Roswell, New Mexico in 1947.

Artwork: 3.8 out of 5
I liked the look of this book overall. I thought for the most part the drawings very strong and the male characters remained consistent. My only drawback came maybe once every 10 pages where I would feel that Jenna was a bit off. However it was a rare occasion compared to the whole. What I liked the most was the use of the color blue in what was almost a colorless issue. I like it when a book can use something as simple as a color to give it definition.

Story: 3.8 out of 5
The story was very cool. I liked the idea of her being built up as an outcast due to her birth defect and going into that line of work. I really enjoyed the way the book was going until halfway when a twist came about. I felt that the part of her being a killer was kind of just cut short to pursue this new venture. That doesn’t mean I didn’t like where it went. It just means I liked where it was going and it switched. Overall though I love the complete story and is worth every penny.

Dying Breath: 3.8 out of 5
Jenna Blue is a great fun thrilling story to read. The artwork is strong and the story takes you on a winding ride full of twists and turns. I would pick this one up again and I hope that they are working on a part 2 because this one has that feeling that more is going to come. I like what I have read so far from Outlaw Entertainment they give you an awesome story for your $8 and how can you beat that?

For more info on Jenna Blue and to purchase this volume please go to http://outlaw-entertainment.com/ You can also order any Outlaw trade through Diamond and Haven.

Posted in: Reviews