Doris Danger Giant Monster Adventures #1 – Advance Review

Posted on September 6, 2009

1


Issue: Doris Danger Giant Monster Adventures! #1
Writer:
Chris Wisnia
Artists:
Chris Wisnia, Arthur Adams, Mike Allred, Peter Bagge, Gene Colan, Ramona Fradon, Dave Gibbons, Russ Heath, Gilbert Hernandez, Jaime Hernandez, Mario Hernandez, Mike Mignolia, Tony Millionaire, John Severin, Bill Siekkiewicz
Cover: Shag
Inks: Dick Ayers
Publisher: Slave Labor Graphics
Release Date:
November 2009
Pages: 96
Price: $9.95

“As a teen, photo-journalist Doris Danger was abducted by a giant monster. Ever since, she’s had a burning desire to prove the existence of giant monsters, but has been unable to prove her beliefs by snapping an indisputable photograph. While she has convinced many, she has also met many who doubt, try to disprove, or even lie, manipulate, and cover up evidence. Doris Danger crosses the X-Files with the famous Lee/Kirby giant monster comics, with a little bit of Godzilla thrown in for good measure!

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
“THUD!” That’s my jaw hitting the floor while looking at the interiors on this book.
There are a select handful of artists I have come across now who can just nail the classics looks so well and Chris Wisnia is now on that list. This is just amazing to look at. The on top of the main artwork, special guests throw in some spreads and this whole collection just shines.

Story: 4.5 out of 5
“THUD!” That’s may chair falling over because I am laughing so hard reading this.
The jokes alone are a good enough reason to read this. The stories follow along the same lines as the classics and  they are just solid. It took me an hour and a half to get through all the content here. It’s 96 pages! What I have to say I loved the most were the subtle jokes hidden here and there. Just saying “Continued on next page” when I know to turn it anyways makes me laugh. This was just hidden with so many small gems.

Dying Breath: 4.5 out of 5
THUD!” That’s my hand slapping down $10 on the counter to have this book in my collection.
I’ll sum it up nice and easy here. The artwork alone is worth $20. Then add in the jokes and more story than I can shake a stick at and were already up to $50. Yet it will only cost me $10 so I am saving $40! An amazing appreciation of classic giant monster works by Lee, Lieber, Kirby and Ayers that will have you wanting more. This one is worth every penny.

If you would like to buy Doris Danger you can pre-order it now through Diamond with the code SEP090572. For info on the book and other fun things check out http://www.tabloia.com/dorisdanger.shtml

Posted in: Reviews