28 Days Later – Review

Posted on August 21, 2009

0


Issue: 28 Days Later #1
Writer:
Michael Alan Nelson
Artist:
Declan Shalvey
Cover Artists:
Tim Bradstreet, Sean Phillips, Brett Weldele
Publisher:
Boom Studios
Release Date:
August 2009
Pages:
24
Price: $3.99

“A new ongoing series! 28 DAYS LATER comes to comics as an ongoing series, connecting the film 28 DAYS LATER to its sequel 28 WEEKS LATER! Focusing on Selena, one of the three survivors of the first film, as she embarks on an epic journey of her return to Great Britain! Scripted by HEXED and FALL OF CTHULHU’s Michael Alan Nelson and drawn by newcomer sensation Declan Shalvey. “

A very descent introduction to the storyline in this issue. I would have liked a back story page to remind me of what happened prior, but it was not 100% necessary. Nice and and a good storyline make this an
interesting read.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
I enjoy all 3 covers of this issue. I really don’t know which one to get. The interior artwork is just as good. Nice and solid characters throughout. Nothing gets muddy or confusing. A definite plus which made this issue that much more enjoyable.

Story: 3.7 out of 5

I felt it was a fast read. Think it took me about 10-15 minutes, but in that time I was able to get a good grasp on what was going on. Like I mentioned it has been 7 years since the original movie came out. So a bit of whats what and who Selena is would have been nice, also I have a reviewer copy. However it does make me want to go rewatch the movie
which is a plus in my book. Overall it brings you up to speed on what is going on and leave you wanting more.

Dying Breath: 3.8 out of 5
Cool covers, great interiors and a story that is strong and effective make this one worth checking out. I imagine if your a fan of the movies you will grab it, but if you like books like the Walking Dead or Zombie Tales check this out. It follows a nice path and looks promising in closing the gap between the movies.

If you would like to buy 28 Days Later #1 you can pick it up on Wednesday August 26 at your local comic shop.

For more on Boom Studios please check out http://www.boom-studios.com/

Posted in: Reviews