Son of 6 #1 – Review

Posted on August 15, 2009

1


Issue : Son of 6 #1
Artist / Creator / Writer / Editor:
Ju Gomez
Cover Colors:
Wulf
Letters: Jason Crawley
Publisher: Virus Comix
Release Date: Feb. 2009
Pages: 32
Price: $2.99

“Satantric,a realm of death ruled by the Queen of dead souls – Motherbleeds grieves over the loss of her dead lover – The Blackmass,the ultimate killer destroyed by the serial killer Son Of 6.”

This one was kind of a mixed bag for me. I was kinda puzzled the entire time I was reading, but the artwork is great. So I kinda felt they balanced each other out but, I don’t know if it was really enough for me to totally commit to the whole package.

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
I think overall this is what shines in the book. Ju’s style really has a feel of it’s own compared to other artists work. He’s not afraid to see the line and jump 20 feet over it and I respect that. Some panels were a bit too dark to fully understand what was going on but overall it comes together nicely.

Story: 2.5 out of 5
The story I just couldn’t understand. When I would read one page, I didn’t feel the next page really followed the same story line. Matter of fact I think there were 2 stories going on here but to tell how one worked with the other I didn’t get. I can tell you this, the story is along Devilish/Satanic lines and in that sense some key plot points I get. But overall I wish I would have understood it more.

Dying Breath: 3.0 out of 5
I enjoyed the artwork but couldn’t get a handle on the story. I can say that the story does flow along the lines it is trying to, it just never got me to get what was going on. Overall I would say if you are a fan of the style check it out, it might be perfect for you. I like what this creative group has done with their other titles but I don’t think this one is for me.

For more info on Son of 6 please go to http://viruscomix.ning.com/ and http://www.myspace.com/sonof6

If you would like to buy Son of 6 #1 or any other Virus Comix titles you can get them through Indy Planet

Posted in: Reviews