Hot Zombie Chicks #1 & 2 – Review

Posted on August 13, 2009

0


Issue: Hot Zombie Chicks #1 & 2
Writer:
Mike Hampton
Artwork:
Mike Hampton
Letters:
Mike Hampton
Publisher: Halo Productions
Release Date: 2007 & 2008
Pages: 24 (each)
Price: $5.00 (each)

In the not too far future, zombies rule the earth! Humans who survived the “zombie war” are forced to find ways to keep themselves entertained. Meet Chad, a twenty-something survivor whose previous job was photography. After photographing his girlfriend-turned-zombie, he then starts to lure in more zombified women, thus creating…”Hot Zombie Chicks”!

I almost feel it is hard to try and give a description on these two issues. I will say that I am reviewing #1 and #2 at the same time because I felt there was not enough content in issue #1 by itself. That being said both books are very good. I would say they are more of a narrative art book than a comic though. The story is enough to explain what is going on but mostly what you find in the issues are nice spreads of Hot Zombie Chicks.

Artwork: 3.8 out of 5
The artwork to me ranged from great to just okay. Some pages are just amazing looking. While others I felt were kind of jumbled together. Overall though the books work well to showcase Mike’s artwork. The actual comic panels however are all very well done. I think that they a clear cut and help to explain the idea behind the spreads. Overall a nice job on both books.

Story: 3.8 out of 5
With the story to me just being the backdrop of the books, I think they work well. With issue #1 there is a nice description as to how the idea came about. Then at the end a terribly frightful ending. Issue #2 is along the same lines. A nice explanation to move the story into the spreads, followed by a funny twist at the end.

Dying Breath: 3.8 out of 5
While I don’t think that one section, spreads vs. comic style, stood out more I think that both worked very well to achieve two nice books. While I did read both together and it helped me make more sense of them,  I think that if you know what you looking at you will get what the creator is after. A nice light tone to show off some very cool artwork. Some of these pages should be made into posters. Just very cool stuff all around.

If you would like to buy Hot Zombie Chicks please go to http://www.indyplanet.com

If you want to check out Hot Zombie Chicks or any other books by Halo Productions please go to http://www.916halo.com/

Posted in: Reviews