Toxic Funnies #1 – Review

Posted on August 2, 2009

0


Issue: Toxic Funnies #1
Writer:
George Webber
Artwork:
George Webber
Colors: George Webber
Editor: George Webber
Publisher: No Cash Comics
Release Date:
December 2008
Pages: 24
Price: $4.00

Toxic Funnies Issue 1 introduces the main characters of the Toxic Funnies line. The main characters are: Professor Numbnutz, your basic lonely Mad Scientist and Baby Jane, the Professors Perfect? woman creation and Blue Baby, the child parents have nightmares about. The Professor creates Jane to cure his lonelyness but gets a bit more than he bargained for..

This book is a nice fun way to introduce the characters and the artist to the masses. You not only get a good story and great artwork but included are some sketches and other works to showcase the creator. A very nice combination, in what I hope is just the beginning.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
I will admit I am a big fan of this style of artwork. It borders on cartoonish and to be honest it kinda reminds me of the Beetlejuice cartoon (hopefully I’m not the only one to remember it.) The drawing aside I really enjoyed the backgrounds in the panels and the coloring. I think that it is just a solid effort from start to finish.

Story: 3.7 out of 5
The story line introduces the reader to main characters and a descent plot line. I did think it was kinda jumpy at times, going from one idea to the next. However the book is filled with great jokes, the Blue Baby section is my favorite. Overall I think what needed to be accomplished was done well, but I think it could have been broken into two issues instead of all in one.

Dying Breath: 3.9 out of 5
George Webber’s art style alone is amazing and it is what drew me into this comic in the first place. I mean come on you know you like the cover. Overall this book is a solid introduction to the characters and creator. I think he built up some strong ideas which he can go from , and I just can’t wait to see where it goes from here. Definatley keep your eye out for his work.

If you would like to buy Toxic Funnies#1 or if you want to check out what what else George is up to, please go to http://www.feverdreams.com/http://www.nocashcomics.com/ and http://gwebber.deviantart.com/

Posted in: Reviews