Fearless Dawn #1 – Review

Posted on July 31, 2009

0


Issue: Fearless Dawn #1
Writer:
Steve Mannion
Pencils:
Steve Mannion
Editor:
Elizabeth J. Musgrave
Publisher:
Asylum Press
Release Date:
June 2009
Pages: 32
Price: $2.95

“Jet riding good girl FEARLESS DAWN battles her arch nemesis Helga Von Krause in this mini-series from Steve Mannion. Fearless Dawn infiltrates the vaunted “Manitoba Sector” to discover the secret behind Helga’s chemically-induced NAZI MONSTERS. Meanwhile, all is not well back at home base when Fearless Dawn’s boss discovers our hero has broken probation and flown the coop! Join us now as Steve Mannion’s beautifully rendered comic book tale unfolds in full-color glory!

The Bomb was such a great read that I knew I was going to love this issue when it came out. I was not disappointed at all. Mannion’s story telling and artwork are done so well that this is a steal for the price and you should check it out.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
I am a big fan of Steve’s work. From his work on Tales From the Crypt to this series none of it is below par. It reminds me of Mike Hoffman’s work a little bit, where it has this nice old school feel to it. The only thing that got to me was the coloring. I just found it a bit distracting because I didn’t think it lived up to the artwork.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
The story is full of just fun moments and intense action. There are nice solid jokes throughout and as it moves along it picks up a good pace and kept my attention. I really like the concept here every bit of this book just cry’s old school and it works. Can’t wait to see what’s in store.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
Fearless Dawn is a solid follow-up effort from The Bomb, and you don’t have to know the original story to get this. The story and artwork just make the whole package work on a higher level that I would love to see become more mainstream. This issue is packed full of fun and I can only hope it won’t stop any time soon. This book is a winner, winner and you will get the whole chicken dinner for only $2.95!

If you would like to buy Fearless Dawn or if you want to check out the other Asylum Press titles please go to http://www.asylumpress.com/

Posted in: Reviews